New Acoustic Album Available on Bandcamp

Styling and Modeling by Guinevere Marrow, photography and processing by Rat Lab Pgh.

nine ballads of love and struggle, originally for solo violin, vocals, and foot percussion with additional piano and orchestral accompaniment

US 2019 tour dates

photo by Eric Rhodes

Tuesday, March 12- Pittsburgh at 3577 Studios †

Wednesday, March 13- Pittsburgh at Babyland*

Thursday, March 14- Columbus at Cafe Bourboun Street*

Saturday, March 16- Cincinnati at The Mockbee*

Sunday, March 17- Detroit at Trumbullplex

Monday, March 18 unnamed city at The Arcade

Wednesday, March 20- unnamed city at (UPPER)

Thursday, March 21- unnamed city at Etre

Saturday, March 23 Burlington at Community of Sound

Sunday, March 24 Portland at The Aphodion

Monday, March 25 North Adams at Parlor Cafe

Tuesday, March 26 Lowell at Uncharted

Wednesday, March 27 Boston at Hong Kong Restaurant

Thursday, March 28 NYC at Secret Project Robot*

Saturday, March 30 NYC apartment gig at Skinny Apartment

*performing industrial grind techno as 1980 Special Twin

†performing an original large-ensemble immersive game-piece

2019 release demo

This is a demo from the 2019 release of songs written on the first motorcycle violin tour in a unique cult-rock style. The songs have been on tour several times with solo violin, vocals, and foot percussion but the recording also features piano, viola, and orchestral strings.

Fall/ Spring updates

Upcoming gigs for Joey Molinaro (solo violin songs) and 1980 Special Twin (experimental industrial techno)
September 16- Pittsburgh at Glitter Box Theater
October 27- The Glove NYC (as XS650 Special Twin)
October 30- Spirit Pgh
December 10- Pittsburgh at 3PV (as XS650 Special Twin)
January 8- Pittsburgh at Milenneal Shaman
January 26- Pittsburgh at Reedsdale Warehouse
March 2- Pittsburgh at Babyland
March 12- Pittsburgh at 3577 Studios
March 14-30 Canadian/ US tour
June-August European Motorcycle Tour III

1980 Special Twin

1980 Special Twin is a new electronic-based performance from Joey Molinaro. With a basis of original experimental industrial dance music, the project has grown to include industrial techno crafted entirely from motorcycle samples and techno reworkings of experimental electronic grind/ post-punk compositions. 1980 Special Twin uses live violin improvisation, vocals and scrappy dance moves.